Sydney United 58 crowned NPL Champions of Australia

Sydney United 58 crowned NPL Champions of Australia

Courtesy NPL NSW


Sydney United 58 have been crowned the 2016 PlayStation 4 National Premier Leagues Champions after defeating Northern NSW’s Edgeworth FC Eagles 4-1 in an entertaining clash with Glen Trifiro bagging a hat-trick at Sydney United Sports Centre cementing them as the best NPL club in Australia.

The victory kept the title in NSW for the second successive year after Blacktown City took it out in 2015 and it was Sydney United 58’s second time lifting the Cup as they took it out defeating South Hobart FC 2-0.

The goals rained in the first half when man of the moment Panny Nikas fired the home side ahead in the lead in the 17th minute via a free kick that took a wicked deflection to give Mark Rudan’s men the lead.

The home side made it two in the 29th minute when Glen Trifiro fired home a great volley after some great build up play which saw the resulting volley rocket in the back of the net.

The half ended and the Reds had the ascendency however the second half took a twist.

The away side fought hard and earned themselves a penalty in the 58th minute.

Keigo Moriyasu stepped up and United 58 keeper guessed right and saved only for the ball to roll back into the path of the Japanese import who smashed it home and it was game on.

However it was an amazing run for Trifiro who restored the two goal parity and scored yet another great goal after a fantastic individual run to put the game beyond doubt in the 77th minute giving the Reds their third of the match.

Trifiro then bagged his hat trick after some nice build up play by Robbie Mileski that all but summed up a great day for the attacking midfielder.

Trifiro grabbed the plaudits and was crowned the Player of the Match, a feat he achieved in 2013 when he took it out in 2013 in the inaugural PS4 NPL Finals Series Grand Final in Tasmania.

Leave a Reply